Snickerdoodles

If you’ve never been to Kansas before, allow me the pleasure of summarizing its weather for you: It was 96 degrees two days ago and a rainy, windy 60 degrees today. (Trust me, there are far more severe examples than that!)

Definitely a good morning for pancakes.

Consumed: Whole-wheat pancakes with blueberries, granola and a bit of syrup.

Especially when they are pancakes I didn’t have to make.

Dan suggested that we go out for a brunch date. That was fine by me, because it gave me an excuse to sleep in!

Shortly after 11 o’clock, we went over to Mirth Cafe, home of my favorite pancakes in the world. Although, I could go for a bigger side of fruit…

Because Dan and I were already downtown, we decided to kill two birds with one stone by stopping by Maceli’s, the reception hall for our wedding. The main objective today was to finalize our menu.

One of the top factors that drew me to Maceli’s is the big selection of vegetarian entrees. I was only able to try eggplant parmesan during a taste test a few months ago, but I’m always a fan of spanakopita, so that’s what I decided to go with. Meanwhile, Dan’s rounding out the entrée selection with barbeque beef brisket. We are also paying the oh-so worth it $1 more to get Great Harvest bread instead of the standard white/wheat rolls.

After finishing up at Maceli’s, Dan met up with a few of his groomsmen to get their measurements from the tux shop in Kansas City. I spent the extra time working on my personal project for the day: baking something to contribute to the Food Blogger Bake Sale, which will benefit Share our Strength to end childhood hunger.

I heard about the local bake sale through Natalie, and then contacted Nikki to see if there were any specific varieties of baked goods she was still hoping for. She got back to me saying they could use more vegan item, so I began brainstorming.

Of course, I have a few personal favorite vegan items. But, I wanted to take the chance to expand my repertoire. Plus, I was sure the chocolate chip cookies would already be covered…

After looking around a bit, I settled on an adaptation of one of Angela’s recipes.

Vegan Snickerdoodle Cookies

Slightly Adapted from Oh She Glows.

Ingredients:

  • 2 C white whole-wheat flour
  • 1/2 t cream of tartar
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1 T milled flax-seed + 3 T water
  • 1/2 C buttery spread
  • 2/3 C + 2 T sugar
  • Cinnamon sugar: 2 T sugar + 2 t cinnamon

Directions:

  • In a small bowl, combine the milled flax-seed with water. Set aside.
  • In a large mixing bowl, cream together the buttery spread,  2/3 C + 2 T sugar and vanilla. Add in the flax mixture.
  • In a medium-sized mixing bowl, whisk together the white whole-wheat flour, cream of tartar, baking soda, cinnamon and salt. Slowly stir into the sugar mixture until everything is combined and dough can be formed into a tight ball. Cover in plastic wrap and refrigerate for 30-60 minutes.
  • In a shallow bowl, mix together the cinnamon sugar mixture. When dough is chilled, scoop tablespoon-sized balls of dough and roll into smooth balls. Roll in the cinnamon sugar and line 2 inches apart on a greased baking sheet. Repeat with rest of dough. Gently press each dough ball with a fork in crisscross directions.
  • Bake for 10-12 minutes in a 375 degree oven.

They turned out even better than expected and reminded me, yet again, why I love cinnamon. I just hope that the people of Lawrence do, too!

Coincidentally, when Dan and I went to his hall for a dinner that was catered by the Mad Greek, there was spanakopita!

Now, if those flaky layers aren’t reassurance enough that I made a good choice about the reception entrée, then I don’t know what is… Except, possibly for the delicious filling!

Dan and I rounded out the night by watching “The Bone Collector,” a 1999 movie with Denzel Washington and Angelina Jolie. Anyone seen it? It was decent in my opinion, but nothing I’d rave about.

Question: How do you rent movies now?

Dan and I are all about Redbox, unless there is a specific movie we want to see!

4 responses to “Snickerdoodles

Leave a Reply

