Lazy lady

I’ve been kind of lazy lately. As an example, let’s just say there the number of days that have passed and showers I’ve taken have not been equal.

Heck, even my baking experiments have been lazy (albeit, good) in nature.

Quick-Baked Oatmeal, II

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 C oats
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 T unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/4 t vanilla
  • 1/4 t cinnamon
  • 1/4 t baking soda
  • 1/2 T honey
  • Optional add-ins (I used dark chocolate chips)

Directions:

  • In a small, microwaveable-safe bowl, stir together the oats, cinnamon and baking soda.
  • Stir in the egg white, applesauce, honey and vanilla. Fold in the add-ins.
  • Cover with a paper towel and microwave for 60-90 seconds.

I decided to revise this recipe after talking with my sister. I loved the first version, but I will admit that it was a little dense. By taking out the extra flour and adding in the applesauce, this was extra fluffy and delicious!

Now, the wheels are turning. All you’d have to do is add in a little extra honey or brown sugar and it would be a bona fide dessert. Consider that fair warning that there may be a “Quick-Baked Oatmeal, III.”

Plus, something that takes less than five minutes to bake and dirties only one bowl? Win-win.

With the proper fueling of the baked oatmeal, I decided to get out and do something with my life. First stop was TJ Maxx to look at potential outside table sets. Dan and I will have a small porch space at our apartment and we love eating meals outside, so a good dining set is a must — the only problem is finding something budget-friendly!

There seemed to be two good options at the store today…

The first was a bundled set with two wooden chairs and a table.

The second option was a wicker set with the chairs and table sold separately. Pieced together, this set is slightly more expensive.

I’ll have to keep looking around, but it’s good to know there are some options!

After taking care of those very important errands, I stopped by a local high school track to get a workout in.

  • 1,000 m warm-up run
  • Hurdle drills
  • Abdominal work
  • 200 m run
  • Bleacher work x 2: Ran all the way up one set of stairs and down the next through the whole stadium
  • Cool-down jog

It wasn’t the greatest or longest workout, but it still helped me work up a sweat. It also brought back a bunch of memories from my high school hurdle days. Sigh. (That being said, you couldn’t pay me to go back to high school, no matter how many hurdles there are in the world.)

Once home, I upped my shower count and then went right back to being lazy. I’m just ready to be HOME in Nebraska for a little while! For some reason, I don’t feel as guilty about being lazy when I’m there.

Plus, I know it’s not going to last long. I’m starting an internship in two weeks that will run up until July when I’ll have this little wedding to keep my occupied.

I think I also feel slightly guilty about being lazy, because Dan doesn’t have that luxury. The boy spent the whole day up at the pharmacy building preparing for his five finals next week! In my opinion, that definitely entitled him to choose the restaurant for dinner — especially because his choice was one of my favorite restaurants in Lawrence, the Burger Stand at the Casbah.

Who cares that we were just there last week? It’s just that good.

This time, I lightened up a little bit with a lentil burger salad, which came with pickled green beans, onions, cauliflower, almonds, feta and lots of lettuce.

Which was nicely rounded out with a few sweet potato fries.

Unfortunately, Dan had to go back to the pharmacy building after dinner for more studying. That meant I just had to go back to watching Real Housewives du jour.

Question: What’s your guilty pleasure TV show?

I hate admitting how entertaining I find the Real Housewives to be. Still, I tell myself it’s better than Jersey Shore!

6 responses to “Lazy lady

Leave a Reply

