Product of boredom

I’m officially done with my junior year of college! Wheeeee!

(Please allow me this moment of gloating before reality sets in an I realize that I will be a college graduate in the real world one year from now…)

My wacky finals schedule meant I had the whole day free until my 7:30 p.m. test. That also meant a lovely, pseudo relaxing ice cream sundae for breakfast.

Consumed: Overnight oats with nonfat caramel yogurt mixed with 1/4 C oats and left in the fridge overnight. Topped in the morning with a blended, frozen banana (<< banana soft-serve) and a dollop of peanut butter.

Breakfast was served with a cup of coffee and a dose of hyperactivity.

Example #1

I’ve been wanting to redo my header for a while, but just didn’t know what to do. Finally, I stopped thinking up complicated ideas and settled on something simple.

Plus, what describes this blog better than a picture of oats? It’s not like you kids get enough of that in every one of my posts…

All I did was take some props outside, set up shop and shoot away.

After getting the shot, I uploaded the image to Picnik, my favorite free editing tool, added some text and… Viola!

Example #2

While I was messing around on Picnik, I decided to develop my idea for the seating chart at the wedding. I’ve been imagining some kind of “meet in the middle” theme, because that’s basically what Dan and I did.

Something like this…

In line with the theme, the tables will each be named after cities or towns that are significant to us. For example, there will be a “Lawrence” table with a little backstory about how we came here for college, met and fell in l-o-v-e.

Examples #3 and 4

In between all that fun, there was also some studying (I won’t bore you with the details) and a in-house Pilates session.

I must have used up all my energy, because I kept lunch pretty simple.

Consumed: Two scrambled eggs with roasted red peppers and goat cheese. Served with baby carrots.

You know it’s good when the pile of cheese is almost equal to the size of scrambled eggs.

What can I say? I’m trying to use up the food in my fridge!

I was also craving some chocolately quick-baked oatmeal, but had just used up my last egg. What to do, what to do? Hmm, how about try out a vegan version!

I did the same thing as my usual quick-baked oats, but used 1 T flax + 3 T water instead of an egg. The cookie itself seemed to hold up, but I may have gone a little overboard with the chocolate chips.

That is, if it’s possible to overload on chocolate chips. I’m doubtful.

After lunch, I packed for my few days at home. In other words, I put some clean clothes in a bag, loaded my laundry in the car and hoped there would be enough to form cohesive outfits.

I also took a nap and when I woke up, I felt compelled to get a snack. I swear, food is the first thing on my mind when I wake up, even if I’m not hungry! Does this happen to anyone else?

Because of that almost bare fridge o’ mine, this snack was pretty random…

Consumed: Ricotta cheese topped with a dollop of Nutella.

It was like unsweetened cheesecake! I loved it, which is saying something, because I’m not really a cheesecake fan.

Although it was good, the late snack was extra unnecessary, because Dan and I planned an early dinner. However, we went to Esquina, so I found some room in my stomach for more food.

As part of the Taco Tuesday special, I paired one potato and marinated onion taco…

… with one black bean and roasted pepper taco….

… and a side of beans and rice…

There were also complimentary chips, but Dan basically claimed them for himself.

That’s alright. It’s almost impossible for me to get mad at this face.

Oh, great. Writing that just reminds me how sad I am about leaving Dan for a few days. His finals go until Friday and he works on Saturday, so he won’t be able to come to Nebraska until Sunday.

I know, it’s not that bad. There are certainly couples who go a lot longer without seeing each other. There are also much more stressful circumstances for separation.

I can’t really complain. Yet, I am. Sorry.

Finally, finally, finally, I took my final and wrapped it up in record time. I was even the first person to hand in the test. I was either super eager for summer or super prepared for the test!

Afterward, I went home for what I expected to be a relaxing night — only to realize my camera was missing! I called up to the restaurant and, fortunately, it was still there. That just meant an unanticipated drive back across town.

But there are worse things. For example, did I mention that I don’t get to see Dan until Sunday?!

(I’m so obnoxious, I annoy myself.)

Questions: What are your plans for the summer? Have you ever lost anything major?

I once lost a $20 bill my mom had given me to go shopping. I really beat myself up over it, but now it seems so insignificant.

5 responses to “Product of boredom

Leave a Reply

