Highway to drive

Ever since I left for Germany last June, my time at home has been pretty limited. A few days during winter break, two days in February and half of a day for the Lincoln Half-Marathon.

It just wasn’t enough.

That’s why, for the past few weeks, I’ve just been aching and eager to get to Lincoln, Nebraska. Finally, today I was able to do just that, but not without some breakfast in my stomach.

Consumed: 1/3 C oats cooked with 2/3 C water, topped with a little mango yogurt and a spoonful of peanut butter.

As soon as the bowl was washed, I made a quick stop by a coffee shop and hit the road.

Between jamming out and sipping on iced coffee, I made it home in record time. Apparently, there aren’t many people on the road between Kansas and Nebraska at 8 o’clock on a weekday morning.

I made it to Lincoln well before lunchtime, which gave me the chance to swing by my mom’s office to say hi. Then, I made it home, did a quick scan of the fridge and settled on a basic smoothie for lunch.

Consumed: Smoothie with one banana, skim milk, ice cubes and peanut butter. Topped with Kashi cereal and Quaker Oat Squares.

While sipping on my smoothie, there was a rustle at the door and a familiar sound of the mailbox shutting. I immediately rushed out to scope out the new RSVPs!

Mostly yes-responses, a few understandable no-responses. It’s just exciting to see them coming in!

Shortly afterward, my mom got home from work and we decided to go out on a little run. She and I usually keep a good pace together, but we were going “extra fast” today. Felt good!

I made an extra quick shower when I got home, because I had very important thing to take care of: my best friend, Katie, had never been to Trader Joe’s before.

Obviously, that had to be fixed — and I was glad to go along for the ride.

We spent some time wandering around, admiring and picking out a few treats. I snagged some dark chocolate, salted almonds and crunchy chocolate chip cookies.

I may or may not have gone a little overboard on my sampling.

Katie and I hung out a little while longer, but she had to head out for dinner plans. I also had very important plans to hang out with “Millionaire Matchmaker” on Bravo.

Rather than take valuable time from my tv mini-marathon, I kept dinner simple.

Consumed: Salad with goat cheese, crasins and sweetened walnuts. Dressed with olive oil, salt and pepper.

On the side, I had my favorite long-grain wild rice from HyVee. I could eaten this stuff alone as a meal. On second thought, I have done that before.

Now, I’m trying to rest through my cookie-induced sugar coma. If it doesn’t work before long, I’m going to head out on a walk with my dad.

Questions: What’s the longest you’ve ever gone without going “home”? When did you stop considering your parents’ house “home”?

4 responses to “Highway to drive

Leave a Reply

