That detox thing…

Do you remember that pseudo-detox thing that I was trying? I know I haven’t mentioned it lately, but I’ve been keeping it up and it’s really been paying off. Best of all, the process has really helped me get more in tune with how my body responds to certain foods.

The morning after frozen yogurt and cupcakes? Blah.

The morning after a day of wholesome eating? Hit me with your best shot, because I’m ready to take on the world!

Not only does my pseudo-detox help me feel more energized, but it also makes my body just feel better. My muscles feel rejuvenated, my head feels clear and my digestive system even feels — uhm — more natural.

Today was actually a pretty typical detox day for me, so I figured it would be a good time to do a play-by-play.

Breakfast

I planned breakfast ahead by mixing up one container of Chobani’s blueberry Greek yogurt with 1/4 C oats and a splash of unsweetened vanilla almond milk to thin it all out. In the morning, I topped it with a spoonful of peanut butter.

One thing I like about Chobani is that it isn’t nearly as sugar-loaded as many yogurts on the market. That means that I get to feel strong from all the protein without crashing from all the sugar!

Running on 20-some grams of protein, I headed over to Hobby Lobby after breakfast to tackle a few wedding-related crafts. I wandered around lost for a while, just trying to figure out what I wanted to do. Eventually, I made a few decisions and checked out.

On the way home, I saw a lone shoe in the road.

Apparently I’m not the only one who loses shoes in the middle of the street!

Lunch

I spent some time crafting after I got home, but then I broke for a two-part lunch.

The main dish was a green monster smoothie with unsweetened vanilla almond milk, one banana, one scoop of chocolate protein powder and a handful of baby spinach. I topped it all with a little Kashi Go Lean cereal — I’ve got to have my crunch!

On the side was a slice of Great Harvest roasted red pepper, spinach and Swiss bread with an extra thin slice of Swiss cheese melted on top.

Then it was back to crafting!

One of my big decisions for the day was what to do for table markers. Dan and I are assigning people to tables (but not specific seats), so I needed to come up with a way to identify the tables. We decided to spin-off a little travel theme by naming each table after a town that it important to one or both of us. For example…

After way too much stamping, I took a break to go for a run. I was delaying as long as possible, because it was a rainy, dreary day. However, it didn’t look like the sun would really be coming out — I figured my best chance to go was when the rain at least stopped!

I just did a basic out-and-back three-mile run across campus with a negative split.

Although the real detox guidelines recommend taking a break from intense physical activity, that’s one rule I’m glad to disregard. Working out is my way to release stress, so no matter how beneficial a detox is, it won’t do any good if it just makes me grumpy!

Because I was pretty productive in the morning, I gave myself a break in the afternoon by watching way too many episodes of Millionaire Matchmaker.

Dinner

For dinner, I made my favorite detox-friendly meal. Seriously, I’m obsessed with this salad combination: baby spinach, one extra thin slice of Swiss, steamed edamame, quinoa, homemade Great Harvest croutons and an orange. I dressed it all with a drizzle of olive oil, salt and peppa!

The star of the show was the juicy, delicious orange.

Who needs a bunch of artificial sugar when nature can be so sweet?

Now, I’m lying low for a while before Dan comes by. He had to go out of the state to take care of some business, so he is being kind enough to pick me up on his way back through town so that I can stay the night at his family’s house.

Question: Dan’s business actually took him up to Wisconsin for the first time in his life. With that as inspiration for the question, how many states have you been to?

I’m not sure how many states I’ve been to, but I think it’s somewhere in the thirties. I’ve lived in four states, though!

Note: Happy birthday to Claire, my soon-to-be sister-in-law!

One response to “That detox thing…

Leave a Reply

