Space food

I consider myself a morning person, but this morning it was darn hard to get out of bed. To be honest, the main thing that motivated me was the thought of a cool, cereal-topped smoothie.

Consumed: Smoothie made with unsweetened vanilla soy milk, one banana, a few ice cubes, a spoonful of peanut butter, xanthan gum and honey. Topped with Special K vanilla-almond cereal.

While I was in the kitchen, I also put together a lunch to take to my internship. I couldn’t help but think it seemed very astronaut-appropriate.

As retro as the aluminum foil appears, it definitely contained some tasty food.

Consumed: Flat Out whole-grain wrap with carrots, red peppers and crumbled, leftover lentil burger. Fresh blackberries and a homemade granola bar.

“Homemade granola-whaaaa?” you say… Allow me to explain.

Chocolate Granola Bars

Adapted from The New York Times.

Ingredients:

  • 3 T buttery spread
  • 2 C oats
  • 1/2 C flax-seed meal
  • 1/2 t cinnamon
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1/3 C honey
  • 2 T brown sugar
  • 1 t vanilla
  • 1/2 C dark chocolate chips

Directions:

  • In a wide saucepan, melt the buttery spread. Stir in the oats and continue stirring until the oats become fragrant and toasty, about five or six minutes. Be careful it doesn’t burn!
  • Transfer the toasted oats to a medium-sized mixing bowl. Combine with the flax-seed meal, cinnamon and salt.
  • Wipe the saucepan clean. In that same saucepan, combine the honey, vanilla and brown sugar. Bring to a boil over medium heat and allow to boil for five minutes.
  • Pour the boiled honey mixture over the oat mixture. Stir to evenly coat and combine everything. Allow the mixture to cool for a few minutes, then add the dark chocolate chips.
  • Evenly spread the mixture over a greased 9 x 9 in. pan. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 20 minutes, being careful not to overcook.
  • Once removed from the oven and slightly cooled, cut into bars or squares. Seal leftovers in an airtight container.

I actually made these bars a few days ago and I already need to make another batch. Let me tell you: They go fast!

After getting home from my internship, I did some pre-move organizing and de-cluttering around my room. I got so caught up in it that, before I knew it, I needed to start making dinner! I kept it simple with steamed brown rice, steamed broccoli and oven-baked sweet potato fries.

Even though it was simple, I was so hungry when it was finished that I dug right in without taking a picture!

How about I make up for it with some…

Friday Fragments

Here are the facts:

  • I’m not in the best shape of my life.
  • My wedding is just five weeks away.
  • I’m not going to do anything extreme to change either of those facts.

It has always seemed slightly crazy to me that some women go on hugely restrictive diets in preparation for their weddings. Sure, I understand that we all want to look our best, but adding more stress to the engagement period just doesn’t seem like a good idea.

That’s why, throughout my engagement, I’ve focused more on being active (remember those two half-marathons?), having fun (remember rock climbing?) and eating well.

All together, it’s helped me achieve a good, healthy balance — which, for me, meant gaining a few pounds of muscle and toning up. Plus, I’m not constantly stressed, hungry or grumpy! And, even though I’m no psychic, I’d bet anyone that I’m going to feel darn sexy good on my wedding day.

So, my question is this: Why do so many brides torture themselves to diet before their wedding? I’ve even heard of people who purposely bought a dress a few sizes too small so they would have extra incentive to lose weight.

I’m going to come right out and say this is crazy, but what do you think?

6 responses to “Space food

  • sara

    those granola bars look awesome! and it looks like a great recipe to make with my son.

    i don’t understand the pre-wedding diet mentality, either. rock climbing sounds like a lot more fun than starvation to me!

  • Gen

    I think that it is crazy to go on a pre-wedding restrictive diet….I mean the whole process is complicated enough without adding more stress!!!!
    Those granola bars look amazing, by the way! 😀

  • Jess

    I think that a ridiculously restrictive diet is bad news. I’m against cleanses and anything that forbids carbs, etc. But unfortunately my unhealthy mindset can tell me that I need to look my best for things like weddings, but I don’t go to these extremes at all, and it’s mostly everything in my head. I love your outlook. You look AMAZING and are active and healthy, and I am sure you will feel extremely sexy. You go girl!

  • Jess

    Restrictive diets are NOT the way to go, and I’m so glad you know that — you will look ABSOLUTELY GORGEOUS on your wedding day..no diet necessary 🙂

    I cannot wait to see all the beautiful pics!!

  • Desserts «

    […] Chocolate Granola Bars* […]

  • Being Prepared « In Transition

    […] Add more nuts besides almonds or add dried fruits such as cranberries. I adapted this recipe from my sister actually! You can view her bars here: Chocolate Granola Bars […]

Leave a Reply

