Jumping from The Knot to The Nest

Hey, there!

Around here, it’s another day and another smoothie.

Consumed: Smoothie with one banana, unsweetened vanilla soy milk, ice cubes and a scoop of chocolate protein powder. Topped with Special K vanilla-almond cereal.

With some food in mah’ belly, I started tackling the day. Unfortunately, this week has been kind of stressful for Dan and me, as we are still up in the air about when we can move into our new apartment. In the meantime, Dan’s living the nomadic life with most of his stuff at my house, which he is staying at so that he can be closer to his already-distant internship.

I would say that all we want is a definite answer on when we’ll be able to move in, but that’s not true. All we want is a good answer that we can move in NOW. I know this seems really impatient, but we are both so ready for it.

As if Dan’s nomadic life and both of our internships aren’t stressful enough, the situation with my current roommates isn’t exactly positive. I’ve tried the whole year to keep it off the blog β€” I like to be optimistic β€” but, frankly it is hard not to let one of my roommate’s constant negativity from getting to me.

All year, I’ve told myself, “Just make it to June and then you can move.”

Now that it’s June, it’s hard for me to take it anymore. I have piles of boxes all packed up and ready to go!

I’m sure that it hasn’t exactly been helping that I’ve spent a lot of free time looking on home design and organizing websites. I have 100 things on my new apartment to-do list! One of my favorite places to look for home and marriage inspiration is a The Nest, which is an offshoot of my beloved Knot.

Whereas The Knot has offered me a lot of help and ideas for planning my wedding, I’ve recently moved on to The Nest for post-wedding ideas on house, family and work. I’ve already put some of the great organizing tips to work.

For example, I’ve stocked all my hair and makeup utensils in a handy compartment for easy access…

I’ve also stuffed my slumping boots with magazines, which keeps them propped up and in place…

It’s all just a start, which is sure to take off when I get into the new apartment. Seriously, is it time to move yet?

Lunch was an unexciting mix of leftovers that I’m working on cleaning out. Dinner, on the other hand, was something fresh, cool and summer appropriate.

White Bean Salad

Ingredients:

  • 1 green pepper, chopped
  • 1 medium onion, chopped
  • 2 Roma tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 yellow chili pepper, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 can white beans, drained and rinsed
  • Pinch of sugar
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 3 T olive oil
  • 1 T red wine vinegar
  • 1 lemon, zested and juiced

Directions:

  • In a medium-sized bowl, combine the green peppers, onion, tomatoes, chili pepper, garlic and white beans. Toss with the sugar, salt and pepper.
  • Stir in the olive oil, red wine vinegar, lemon zest and lemon juice. Cover and refrigerate for at least one hour.

I served mine with some pita bread. Dan bulked his up with some grilled chicken.

Ta-da! A perfect vegetarian/omnivore meal!

Questions: What are your best organizing tips? Do you have any good roommate stories?

6 responses to “Jumping from The Knot to The Nest

Leave a Reply

