Reader Request: Planning a wedding menu

I recently got a message from a reader of my blog, asking how Dan and I were going to compromise on our wedding menu.

He asked…

Are you or have you already done a post about the food you chose for your wedding? I was wondering how a vegetarian would please all of her guests while still pleasing herself.

It was perfect timing for the question, too, because Dan and I just made the final revisions to the menu. Yes, I know that I said the menu was finalized more than a month ago, but things change…

Sorry.

In this case, I’m going to come right out and say that things have changed for the better. I upgraded from spanakopita (which I really do like) to portobello mushroom caps stuffed with butternut squash, drizzled with a poblano dressing and served atop a bed of cranberry couscous.

There are a couple of reasons that played into this decision. One of those factors is that stuffed mushrooms are quite dear to Dan and me…

Another factor is that, believe it or not, I consider myself a bit of a foodie. I’d rather spend a little bit more on a menu that I am really satisfied with than go with the economical choice — I have been willing to save on other aspects of the wedding.

All right… Now, back to answering the question about how Dan and I divvied up the menu.

We both like food, so it was obvious that the menu would have to be a joint decision.

From there, it was really pretty simple. We decided on doing two entrées: one with meat, one all vegetarian. Then, he was 100% in charge of the meat choice (BBQ beef brisket) and I got total rein on the veggie selection.

The only “problem” with this system is that our entrée selections do not exactly go hand-in-hand. But, with a lineup of delicious food, I don’t really think anyone is going to take the time to notice.

With no further ado, here is the final, FINAL menu.

Appetizers

Fresh Fruit Skewers with a Honey and Mango Yogurt Sauce

Tomato Caprese Skewers

Side Dishes

Salad of Spring Greens, Pears, Candied Walnuts, Goat Cheese and Raspberry Vinaigrette

Sautéed Seasonal Vegetables

New Potatoes with Clarified Butter and Parsley

Great Harvest Bread

Entrées

Barbecue Beef Brisket

Portobello Mushroom Caps with Butternut Squash Stuffing, Poblano Dressing and Cranberry Couscous

Dessert

White Chocolate and Raspberry Cake

Assorted Cupcakes

Chocolate Fountain with Various Dippers

I figure that as long as Dan and I like the food, it’s a pretty good bet that most of our guests will, too! And, if not, did you catch the part where I mentioned that there is a chocolate fountain? If you don’t like that, then you don’t like happiness…

Questions: What aspects of your wedding would be willing to splurge on? What about save on?

3 responses to “Reader Request: Planning a wedding menu

Leave a Reply

