Low-Sugar, Double Chocolate Banana Bread

Since moving in together, I’ve discovered that Dan has a pretty good eye for design. He is good at simply visualizing where the television stand looks best, how the couches should be arranged and where the pictures should be hung.

Working together, we’ve been able to put a lot in place in a small amount of time.

So, rather than having “the bedroom,” “the living room” and “the dining space,” now it feels like “our bedroom,” “our living room” and “our dining space.”

But, there is one domain that Dan has surrendered entirely to me: the kitchen.

And I’m not complaining!

I get to put everything in place, including my beloved Ball jars.

I also get to fill the pantry — yes, pantry! — and bake to my heart’s desire.

Will all that authority, I figured there would was no better way to break the kitchen in than by whipping up a whole new recipe.

Low-Sugar, Double Chocolate Banana Bread

(Adapted from “Eggless Cooking.”)

Ingredients:

  • 1 C whole-wheat flour
  • 3/4 C all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 C cocoa powder
  • 1/3 C sugar
  • 1/4 t baking soda
  • 1 1/4 t baking powder
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1/4 C buttery spread, melted and slightly cooled
  • 3/4 C non-fat vanilla yogurt
  • 2 T water
  • 3 bananas, mashed
  • 1 t vanilla
  • Dark chocolate chips

Directions:

  • In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the whole-wheat flour, all-purpose flour, sugar, baking soda, baking powder and salt.
  • In a medium-sized mixing bowl, stir together the melted butter, yogurt, water, mashed bananas and vanilla.
  • Pour the banana mixture into the flour mixture and stir to combine, scrapping the edges so that all the flour is integrated. Be careful not to over mix. Fold in the chocolate chips.
  • Divide batter evenly among three, greased mini-baking pans. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 40-50 minutes, until a wooden skewer comes out clean. Note: If using a full-sized loaf pan, increase baking time by 10-15 minutes.

Try, TRY to give the bread a few minutes to cool before slicing into it…

Then take a few more minutes to revel in the chocolatey deliciousness. Oh, yeah…

Questions: If you could choose one room in the house to have total authority over, which room would you choose? Which would be the last room you would want to decorate?

7 responses to “Low-Sugar, Double Chocolate Banana Bread

  • Gen

    Yuuum!!! I have already bookmarked this! 😀

  • Jess

    Yum! I think I’d want the kitchen or the bedroom, not the dining room or the living room!

  • Desserts «

    […] Low-Sugar, Double Chocolate Banana Bread […]

  • Emily @ eat.drink.run.

    this looks delicious!

    i also love Ball jars – perfect for so many uses! i’d want to have authority over the kitchen and probably the bedrooms. i’ve been in my current apartment for 3 years and am dying for a bigger kitchen! there just isn’t enough space to spread out and go nuts.

  • Jess

    I would LOVE to have total control over my bathroom. Make it all girly..my poor brothers 😉

    mmmm, this bread looks DELICIOUS!!

  • Decorating small spaces «

    […] right, I may have exaggerated the role that Dan’s played in decorating. He really has been helpful in confirming some of the design plans, but I’ve basically been […]

  • kellycosby

    Hi Emily, love your blog! Glad I read it. Congrats on your new place! I’m definitely going to be using this recipe… that just sounds too too delicious. As for your question about domains over rooms, I have been living alone in a studio for a year and now believe it will be impossible for me to relinquish authority over any room at all. It’s kind of sad that it’s turned me into a control freak 😦 but I like being able to decorate the way I want!

Leave a Reply

