Celebrate the little moments

Looking back on a lifetime, it’s probably common to remember the big dates…

The day you were married.

The day you got your dream job.

The days your children were born.

The days you grandparents, parents or friends die.

The days of wondrous circumstance…

But, what about the days that fill those spaces? What about the days where you experience deep, belly-shaking laughs? Or the days that you feel so blessed by the company of friends and family? Or the days where you just eat really, really good food?

Years down the line, those days will probably remain nameless. However, they will be the days that truly affect your life and make you who you are. At least that is the case for me…

I’ll never remember the date when my mom and sister came to visit and we ate at Esquina for the millionth time…

But I will be affected by our ever-strengthening bond.

I’ll never remember the date that Dan and I went out for a standard dinner of (veggie) burgers and delicious sweet potato fries…

But I will be affected by my continuously growing love for him.

I will never remember the date that I spent time with my mom and dad at a neighbor’s auction, learning more about my parents and their own histories…

But I will be affected by how much respect and appreciation I have for them.

I will never remember the date of a random engineering party I went to…

But I will be affected by where it led me to.

I guess that’s why life is about the journey, not the destination. While those momentous occasions may bookmark our lives, ultimately, they are just small sections in much larger stories.

Questions: What have been the most important “small moments” in your life?

2 responses to “Celebrate the little moments

Leave a Reply

