Those normal days

Lately, it seems as if most days are marked by those big events. Whether it’s filing for the marriage license (<< we did that!) or romping around Kansas City, every day feels abnormally exciting.

That is why it was ironically — almost exciting that today was normal.

I had a pretty normal, delicious version of oats with bananas, strawberries and sunflower seed butter.

However, because I had time to devote on actually preparing it, I cooked the oats on the stove instead of in the microwave. So much more delicious that way!

After breakfast, I had time to do some normal errands, such as running to the store, stopping by Hobby Lobby and returning a Redbox DVD. It was just so normal that it was mind-blowing. And appetite spurring.

Time for lunch at a normal hour. Plus, it didn’t have to be a pre-packed salad that appealed to me at 7 a.m., but not noon. Instead, I got to go with the one thing that almost always appeals to me.

Consumed: Smoothie with vanilla almond milk, banana, baby spinach, ice cubes, frozen blueberries and peanut butter. Topped with Vanilla Almond Special K cereal.

After lunch, I spent a little time practicing being a good future-wife by cleaning up the house. When my attention ran out after 10 minutes, I headed over to the gym for a mid-day workout. Once there, I discovered I probably should have given my stomach some more time to settle.

While it wasn’t the best workout ever, I was flexible enough to change plans part way through and go for speed rather than distance on the treadmill. In the end, I still worked up a good sweat.

The rest of the afternoon was a normal, lazy day kind of thing. I even feel asleep on the couch for way too long an unknown amount of time.

Sometime during the afternoon, I recommitted myself to being a good future-wife and made up some pizza dough for Dan’s requested pizza night.

Some rising later, the dough was ready for molding and baking!

For Dan’s pie, I used turkey sausage, sautéed mushrooms, onions, red sauce and Italian-blend cheese. For my, more creative pie, I used some previously roasted sweet potatoes, mushrooms, onions, hummus, Italian-blend and feta cheeses.

Right when Dan arrived back from his last, long day at an internship, the pizza was d-o-n-e and baked to perfection on our new pizza pan!

Is that excitement or what?

Now, we are going to spend some time enjoying to cool weather before — my guess is — heading inside to watch “How I Met Your Mother.” I’m obsessed.

Questions: What does a “normal day” look like to you? How different are your summer days from school days?

4 responses to “Those normal days

Leave a Reply

