It’s Sunday, right?

Hey, friends! How was your Sunday?

Mine was obviously fantastic. I mean, it started with pancakes…

I went with the same recipe as my incredible, fluffy and strawberry-stuffed pancakes except I swapped the strawberries for blueberries and definitely maybe a few chocolate chips. Topped with nonfat vanilla yogurt and pure maple syrup it was a fantastic way to start off my Sunday!

Dan agreed, too.

Then, it was time to take off for some errands. Now that Dan and I are both officially done with our internships, there is quite a bit of catching up and to-doing before the wedding! On today’s list was (another) stop by Hobby Lobby, making a few changes to the wedding registries, dealing with car maintenance and picking up our marriage certificate.

By the time we got done with it all, my appetite was definitely back in action.

Similar to a typical weekend afternoon, I went with some random leftover: steamed edamame, orange slices and the previous night’s pizza.

And, oh yes, that is a double-decker pizza.

After lunch, Dan and I ran back out for a few more errands, which included a stop by Earl May for some hanging plants and another stop by the hardware store for hooks to hang ’em.

Back home…

Pretty, huh?

I like the flowers, too.

I think that the red flowers especially bring out the chili pepper lights that Dan already hung.

Dan and I had a few more things to figure out with the honeymoon, so we spent some time planning that all out before breaking for dinner. He had leftover burgers for lunch, so he went with leftover pizza for dinner. That meant I got to come up with my own dinner. Guess what I went with?

Smarty. How’d you guess it was a smoothie?

To be more specific, this was actually a green monster.

My Basic Green Monster

Ingredients:

  • 1 C unsweetened vanilla almond milk (alternatively, any milk)
  • 1 frozen banana
  • 1 large handful of baby spinach
  • 3-4 ice cubes
  • 1 T peanut butter

Directions:

  • In a blender, combine milk, ice cubes and banana. Blend until combined.
  • Add in spinach and more milk, if necessary. Blend until everything is combined and creamy.
  • Add in peanut butter and combine.
  • Serve with optional toppings, such as cereal, cottage cheese, yogurt or fresh fruit.

After dinner, Dan and I were determined to go on a run. We made it a good couple of miles, but the humidity just wasn’t relenting. I guess that’s one of the (few) downsides of summer.

I love Sunday’s up until this point when I realize that — sigh — I have work or school tomorr… Oh, wait. It’s just Wednesday. How did I miss that one? Gosh, I guess that’s the problem with having pancakes in the middle of the week.

Questions (green themed!): Have you ever had a green monster smoothie? Do you have a green thumb in the garden?

P.S. Happy 21st birthday to Katelyn!

5 responses to “It’s Sunday, right?

Leave a Reply

