A little of this, a little of that

I have to be truthful: I’ve been a pretty bad blogger these past few days.

For one, my head just isn’t in it. Call me crazy, but this wedding’s been on my mind a lot.

But more than that, my life has been exceedingly wedding-oriented. How much do you really want to hear about the bags I’ve stamped or the reception decisions I’ve made?

I’m not saying it isn’t exciting β€” heck, it’s the only time I get to experience these things. But, I am saying it probably isn’t exciting to anyone other than me. (And maybe Dan, but that’s questionable.)

Because of all the wedding nonsense, my meals have become boring. It’s basically become easy, healthy, go-to meals such as smoothies, bowls of cereal and varying versions of my favorite salad.

High-Protein Citrus Salad


Ingredients:

  • Handful of romaine lettuce, rinsed, drained and torn
  • 1/3 C uncooked quinoa
  • 1/3 C frozen edamame
  • 2 T goat cheese
  • Orange, peeled and segmented
  • 1 T Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

  • Toast quinoa in a small saucepan over medium heat for 3 minutes, or until fragrant. Add 2/3 C water and cook, stirring occasionally until water is absorbed, about 8 minutes.
  • Using the microwave, steam the edamame according to package directions.
  • On a large plate, arrange the lettuce. Top with quinoa, edamame, goat cheese and orange segments. Drizzle with olive oil and season with salt and pepper.

Seriously, I would have this salad for lunch every day and never get sick of it. I think it’s the orange that makes it so balanced and delicious. Plus, with all the flavors, it doesn’t need a heavy dressing.

It’s those kind of things that help me stay sane during this time.

Occasional bike rides with my intended also help β€” We just have to wait until late in the day so we avoid heat stroke!

Lawrence had a 120 degree heat index yesterday and the temperature for the wedding is expected to be more than 100 degrees.

One of the main things that helps me stay sane is spacing all the wedding madness out a little bit. Throughout the past few days, I’ve deliberately attempted to tackle only a few tasks at a time. For example, in the morning, I might go in for a necessary haircut…

In the afternoon, I might make my daily stop by Hobby Lobby. And, in the evening, Dan and I might go by his house to figure out some seating arrangement details and pick up some of our presents.

In between those things, I add in downtime, working out, reading, etc…

With a little of this, a little of that I feel pretty calm, happy and eager for this weekend to come.

Questions: What do you write about when your mind of somewhere else.

2 responses to “A little of this, a little of that

Leave a Reply

