Black bean roll-ups

This afternoon was all about bags for Dan and me. First was laundry and subsequent packing for out honeymoon.

Then, it was time to tackle filling  130+, small, fabric bags with sunflower seeds and tying them all up with twine.

Dan’s mom was my hero and volunteered to make the little bags with her sewing machine. So, I can’t really complain about doing the rest.

Plus, with Dan’s help, I was able to get them all done in just two episodes worth of “How I Met Your Mother.”

After the ceremony, guests will be able to pick up bags of the seeds, go outside, untie the bag and then toss the seeds as Dan and I make our exit. You wouldn’t think it’s necessary, but Dan and I are going to make a sign explaining to people that they need to open the bag and throw the individual seeds.

I’ve heard from two different people that they were at weddings where similar bags were handed out. Some of the guests got confused and chucked the golf ball-sized bags at the newlyweds. Who does that?

Anyway, although it was nice to get the bags crossed off the checklist, there was still plenty more to do. So, Dan and I did what any normal people would do… Went on a 20-ish mile bike ride. What better way to relax, right?

In all honesty, it’s those little getaways that have helped Dan and me (but, who are we kidding, mostly ME) stay sane throughout this whole planning process. Especially in these final days, I know it’s important to maintain some kind of calm about everything. For me, that mean setting time aside for working out also spending time in the kitchen.

Easy Black Bean Roll-Ups

Ingredients:

  • Package of whole-wheat tortillas
  • 14-oz can of black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 12-oz frozen corn, steamed
  • Package of Mexican-blend cheese
  • Jar of salsa
  • 2 T low-sodium taco seasoning

Directions:

  • In a small skillet, combine the black beans, corn, taco seasoning and 1/4 C water. Simmer until majority of water if evaporated, about five minutes.
  • Spread a thin layer of salsa in an 8 x 8 in. pan.
  • Lay out one tortilla. Place ~1 T cheese in the center. Top with ~2 T bean mixture. Roll the tortilla up and place seam side down in the pan. Repeat until pan is full, about eight tortillas.
  • Top with more salsa and remaining cheese.
  • Bake in 400 degree oven for 10 minutes.

Not only was this recipe super filling for me, but Dan also loved it. Plus, it could be easily adapted for many, many more servings.

That’s a win in my book, because I need all the ease I can get right now…

I hope to be back soon, but continue to check the blog, because there are some posts scheduled for while Dan and I are on the honeymoon!

3 responses to “Black bean roll-ups

Leave a Reply

