Honeymoon, Part II

It’s only a little depressing to think that this time last week, Dan and I were floating somewhere in the Atlantic on an awesome cruise ship. Now, we are melting in 100+ degree Kansas weather.

At least we’re together, right?

Now, backing up to some more honeymoon details…

On our first full day on the ship, we got off the ship to explore the Grand Bahama’s island town of Freeport. At the port, we were met with a guide and a bus to shuttle Dan and me to our pre-booked excursion of snorkeling.

At the new location, we got on a smaller boat, which took us out to a coral reef.

After some instruction, we stripped down to our swimsuits and jumped in. I had never gone snorkeling before, so it was all a new experience for me. Fortunately, I was able to catch on pretty fast and Dan was helpful.

It was as if we were in a whole different world! There were fish of every color and the clear water was a far cry from that murky lakes that I’m used to. When our half-hour was up, I didn’t want to get out… Until the guides said that we could try out the on-boat water slide.

Thoroughly exhausted and exhilarated, we made it back to the island and then back to the ship. Then we passed out until our grumbling stomachs’ woke us up for another night of dinner and fun.

The next day, I woke up to see water still on all sides of the boat. Rather than docking at a port, we had to take a smaller boat to ferry us to the small island, which is privately owned by Norwegian Cruise Line.

For the day, we didn’t have any excursions planned. Instead, we decided to go with the flow and see what was offered.

We ended up relaxing on the beaches, soaking up some rays and hiding our eyes from some nude sun bathers. The normal stuff.

After getting back on the boat and cleaning up, Dan and I headed out for another night. The incredible thing about the cruise ship wasn’t just the shows, the food and the fun… To me, it was really the scenery that was so captivating. I don’t think I saw a single lackluster sunset.

To soak it in, Dan and I made a point each night of finding a special spot to watch the sun sink into the ocean.

For the final full day on the boat, we got up bright and early for another excursion in the city of Nassau.

Nassau is the biggest city the island of New Providence. However, most people probably recognize the island by the Atlantis resort.

For our excursion, Dan and I went snorkeling again. But, this time we also got to try out some clear-bottomed kayaks.

Once again, I was blown away by the world under the sea. This time, the fish came up so close I could almost touch them (and, trust me, I tried).

I was honestly sad to get out of the water. However, I was hungry and lunch sounded pretty good, so Dan and I went back to the boat for a free meal before heading back out to explore Nassau.

We could really tell how much the island depends on tourists: There were souvenirs shops on every corner. At least it gave us the chance to pick up some goods!

I got a sun hat I’d been wanting…

While Dan splurged on a nice watch.

Then it was back on the boat for one last, incredible evening and sunset.

The next day, although I was sad to leave the ship, it was exciting to know we still had two more days in Miami…

Notes:

  • Part I of the “Honeymoon” series. 
  • Part III will be up tomorrow.
  • Additional posts will be devoted to food and exercise.

Questions: Have you ever been on a cruise before? Where did you sail? What did you think?

6 responses to “Honeymoon, Part II

Leave a Reply

