Wedding: Bridal Shots

Even though I had never been to a wedding before my own, I wasn’t entirely ignorant about marital traditions. For example, I knew the adage that “something old, something new, something borrowed and something blue” would bring luck.

I didn’t necessarily need any luck — I am already the luckiest girl in the world. Still, I am slightly superstitious. Therefore, I carefully selected…

Something old: Pearl earrings

My pearl earrings, which my mom brought me from China three years ago, were obvious choices for “something old.” They tied in perfectly with the detail on my dress and the small pearls on my necklace.

Something new: My dress

From the moment I tried it on, I knew that this dress was “the one.” From delicate lace to a cinched waist to a flowing train, it had every detail I imagined.

It was as if it was made for me. In fact, I didn’t have to get any alterations.

With that, I was sold and never looked back.

Those feelings just came rushing back on the afternoon of July 16, when I slipped it on for the final time.

Something borrowed: Ring bearer’s pillow

I knew from the beginning that this “something” may have been stretching it — but it was just too good to pass up! That’s because the ring bearer’s pillow is originally from my parents’ wedding.

Better yet, the cute little ring bearer is the son of the (now-grown) man who was Dan’s parents’ ring bearer.

Something blue: My shoes


Similar to the dress, I was in love with these shoes from the moment I saw them. I simply couldn’t imagine a better, more fun way to tie “something blue” into the mix.

As my sister helped me slide the shoes on that afternoon, it seemed to be the final step in my Cinderella transformation.

I felt beautiful. I felt happy. I felt ready to walk down the aisle.

At that time, my emotions finally began catching up with me. I thought about the walk I was about to take, the vows I was about to say and the new chapter I was about to embark on.

Yet, there was no fear. I was just calm, happy and incredibly ready to reunite with Dan.

All that was left to do was wait.

Notes:

3 responses to “Wedding: Bridal Shots

Leave a Reply

