Ginger-Lime Soba Salad

Here’s the deal: I like routine.

I like having to wake up at 7 (or 9 or noon).

I like having to go to class from 8-5.

I like having to run, cook a meal, do homework and go to sleep.

What I don’t like is all the gray space that has been filling up my life for the past few weeks. Seriously, I don’t know what to do with myself when someone or something doesn’t tell me. It’s really kind of counter intuitive that I am most productive and creative when I have the least amount of time. When I get back into a routine, someone remind me to figure out why that is…

This phenomena also explains why my DVR is wiped clean of all “How I Met Your Mother” episodes, while my fridge is still stocked with things for me to bake and cook.

But, I am happy to say that this all ends now. School starts in one week and Kansan training is already underway. I’m getting a routine back and I love every stressful moment of it. I’m sure Dan does, too, considering we didn’t have spaghetti for the fifth night straight…

Ginger-Lime Soba Salad

Lightly Adapted from Andrea Meyers.

Ingredients:

  • 8 oz (or two bundles) soba noodles
  • Juice of one lime
  • 6 T low-sodium soy sauce
  • 1-1/2 T fresh ginger, peeled and minced
  • 1-1/2 t honey
  • 4 carrots, peeled and sliced into “match sticks”
  • 2 zucchini, peeled and sliced into “match sticks”
  • 2 avocados, peeled and diced*
  • Salt and pepper, to taste
  • 1 package extra firm tofu, pressed and cubed
  • 1/4 C teriyaki sauce

Directions:

  • Toss tofu with teriyaki sauce. Spread mixture on a greased baking sheet. Cook in a 400 degree oven for 10 minutes. Stir up tofu and cook for an additional 5-10 minutes, depending on desired level of crispness.
  • Cook soba noodles according to package direction. Immediately rinse under cold water. Toss and run under cold water again.
  • In a medium-sized bowl, stir together lime juice, soy sauce, ginger and honey.
  • In a large bowl, toss noodles with carrots and zucchini. Stir in the ginger-soy mixture.
  • Top noodles with tofu and avocados.* Season with salt and pepper as desired.

*If anticipating leftovers, add avocados on an individual-serving basis. They will brown if kept in the fridge. Otherwise, this is a great leftover dish, because the flavors continue to mix.

When I served this to Dan, his first reaction was, “These noodles are different. What is this?”

I enjoyed informing him that they were soba noodles, which are naturally whole-grain. It was just the mix-up we needed from pasta noodles, without straying too far from familiar territory.

I’ve got to ease back into this pro-duck-tivity thing.

… And, no, that picture doesn’t relate to anything. I just couldn’t resist.

Questions: Have you cooked with soba noodles before? What type of cuisine are you most unfamiliar with?

I get kind of nervous when it comes to Asian food, but I revert to being a total five-year-old with the thought of making Indian dishes. That’s sad, too, considering Indian is one of my favorite types of food!

2 responses to “Ginger-Lime Soba Salad

Leave a Reply

