Veggie Lacking

I haven’t been craving vegetables lately. Earth shattering, I know.

It’s not like I’d shun a good salad or shy away from a Green Monster. I’m just not going out of my way to get those things.

Instead, I’m filling my calorie bank with whole-grains, smoothies and “occasional” scoops of Graeter’s ice cream. Although I’m not necessarily complaining — there is little to complain about when you have a cup of mint chocolate chip ice cream in your hands — but, my body isn’t feeling its best.

That’s why, when I was compiling my shopping list last week, I decided to load the deck with one dish that would make it easy to get vegetable servings all week long.

Colorful Veggie Saute

Ingredients:

  • ~2 T olive oil
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 medium sweet potato, cubed
  • 1 C vegetable broth
  • 2 C frozen corn
  • 2 yellow squash, cubed
  • 1 C frozen edamame
  • 1 pint cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1 t dried basil
  • 1 t dried oregano
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

  • In a large skillet, heat olive oil over medium-high heat. Add onion and saute until lightly browned. Add garlic and sweet potato and continue sauteing until sweet potato can become easily pierced, about 6-8 minutes.
  • Add vegetable broth, corn, squash and edamame. Stir and continue cooking until squash is tender.
  • Add tomatoes, basil and oregano. Stir and reduce heat to medium. Allow mixture to simmer for 2-3 minutes, until tomatoes are soft.
  • Season with salt and pepper.

This definitely gave me a fair share of vegetables!

However, for the first time in a while, that actually seemed to be a good thing… And I wasn’t the only one craving some veggies.

Even still, we couldn’t make it through the whole dish in one night, so there was a good amount of leftovers. That just made for some delicious wraps with whole-grain tortillas, Laughing Cow Swiss Cheese and a servings of the veggie saute.

Question: What do you do when you aren’t craving something that you really should eat?

2 responses to “Veggie Lacking

  • Gen

    That saute looks delicious! If I need to eat something that I’m not really craving, I try to do what you did and come up with a creative way of serving it!

  • sara @ the foodie diaries

    Lately I’ve been craving sweets like it’s my JOB (which is strange because I’m more of a salty person) so I’ve tried to drink a glass of water and erat something healthier for me instead of eating that scoop of ice cream that I just HAVE to have 😉

Leave a Reply

