Dan’s in the kitchen

Warning: I need to brag for just a few minutes.

My husband is the best. Seriously, the best.

Even though I left him last weekend to go down to Arkansas and I’ve been going one million miles an hour this week, he is still being incredibly nice to me. It’s like he loves me.

Take yesterday for example. I was in the middle of a l-o-n-g day of classes and feeling tired from work that kept me up late the night before. While complaining talking to Dan on the phone, he told me that he was going to make dinner. He had a recipe and he was going to the store. It wasn’t up for discussion. At least, that’s what I told him.

Even more shockingly, he was cooking with tofu for dinner. TOFU! And, this coming from a guy who steers clear of tofu because he thinks it will raise his estrogen levels.

When I finally got home, he told me just to kick my feet up and relax. In the meantime, he got to work in the kitchen.

I tried to mind my own business as much as possible. But, apparently, I have a habit of  “seeing how everything’s going.”

Here he is telling me, “Hey, I’m the cook tonight!”

I must admit that, even without my guidance, he did a really good job.

I was a little upset to see that he was raising the bar and  making an appetizer. Not that I don’t love more food. I just hope he doesn’t expect me to return the favor with five-course meals every night.

Dinner is served

First up was the simple, delicious appetizer of sliced tomatoes + fresh basil + mozzarella.

Such a classic.

Then, Dan switched cuisine styles on me and served an Asian-inspired rice dish.

In all seriousness, it was amazing — And I’m not just saying that because I want him to keep cooking for me.

If I didn’t know better, I would have said it was a restaurant dish. Definitely unlike anything I’ve cooked.

Dan needs to give me some cooking tips. Or just keep cooking. It’s basically a win-win.

Questions: Does your significant other ever cook for you? If so, is his/her cooking style different from  yours?

I shouldn’t be too surprised with Dan’s cooking skills, considering that he used to make meals for 50 guys on a regular basis. As for cooking styles, I’m definitely ok with straying from recipes, but Dan’s pretty much anti-recipe. He just gets ingredients and goes with it!

3 responses to “Dan’s in the kitchen

Leave a Reply

