Back It Up 5K Trail Race

You know it’s a trail race when…

(Pathetically, that little patch of mud doesn’t compare to how mud-covered I was after slipping on my walk with Tracker this morning. I-do-not-want-to-talk-about-it.)

This morning, Dan and I were up and at ’em early to drive to Milford Lake in the Flint Hills for the United Way “Back It Up” trail race. We signed up for the 5K, but the prices were the same for all of the distances (5K, 10K, 15K, 20K), so we were still up in the air about what to run.

The scenery on the drive was beautiful, but the road still lulled me to sleep.

That just meant I was energized for the race!

It rained the whole night before, so we anticipated that the trails would be extra muddy. On the flip side, the air was really cool. After taking those factors into consideration, Dan and I decided to do the 10K — just at an easy, fun pace.

Before the race started at noon, there was a raffle for prizes ranging from t-shirts to a $150 voucher to a night at Acorns Resort, where the race was set…

Dan and I stood around, clapping while people picked up their prizes.

“I never win raffles,” Dan said.

Then, his number was called — for the grand prize!

That means we get to spend one night in an awesome cabin on the lake!

After that little boost, the race got started — and we flew onto the course. Within the first 100 meters, Dan was pretty far ahead of me and I realized our plans for a “nice, easy” race had changed. I went with it and picked up the pace.

By the turn-around, I was feeling pretty good. But, I also know my body and I realized that, at the pace I was going, I could either push it even harder and get a great 5K time or I could slow down and have a decent 10K.

I went for the 5K.

Hello, personal record! At a 8:40 pace, that’s a full 36 seconds faster than my last trail 5K.

I also managed to come in second out of the women, which scored me a medal.

Better yet, I had time to go back and cheer Dan on while he finished his 10K. (When he passed me after the first turn-around, I told him I was doing the 5K.)

Go, Dan, go!

For not having run that distance since April, Dan rocked the race and ended up getting first of all the men!

Power couple, right?

To top off the already awesome day, Dan and I were then able to swing through Manhattan to see his sister, Claire! Last time we were in town, there was a big rush to get her moved into her dorm. Fortunately, she was able to give us a tour of Kansas State’s campus this time.

We also got a (very late) lunch at Coco Bolo’s, a “New Mexican” restaurant. I went with two vegetarian tacos + rice, beans, cheese and lettuce.

Definitely hit the spot!

After visiting Claire, we hit the road back. Before going home, we stopped by Dan’s parents’ house, because they were awesome enough to watch Tracker all day.

Now, we are finally home, it’s 10:20 and I am wiped out! Homework will wait until tomorrow…

Questions: How was your weekend? Do you ever win raffles/prizes?

4 responses to “Back It Up 5K Trail Race

Leave a Reply

