National Family Day

Today isn’t National Family Day, A Day To Eat Dinner with Your Children.

That was actually yesterday, but the holiday passed by before I even knew it existed.

That’s just as well, too. Yesterday I ate my dinner in front of a computer while working at The Kansan. Dan ate hot wings with his Dad while his mom was taking classes. Basically, we were all very, very far from a dinner table.

Unfortunately, this is all too common.

Not to criticize my parents at all, but eating dinner together was a rare event. More typically, I got home from some practice, my sister had something else going on, my dad was at work and my mom was taking her first break of the day.

I’ve always hoped to break this trend with my own family.

Right now, we are really pretty successful: More often than not, Dan and I sit down to dinner together and enjoy time without any distractions. However, I know that things will certainly get more complicated down the line.

Nonetheless, it is my goal to have dinner with my family (almost) every night. Not just so they can hear my talk about my day, either. Here’s why…

More than a decade of research by The National Center on Addiction and Substance Abuse (CASA Columbia) at Columbia University has consistently found that the more often kids eat dinner with their families, the less likely they are to smoke, drink or use drugs.Family Day

That’s worth taking a little extra time, right?

Questions: Do you sit down to dinner with your family? Did you while growing up?

4 responses to “National Family Day

  • Stacie

    Growing up my family always sat down to the dinner table and ate together. My husband and I most often eat together at the table also. I feel it’s important to sit down and embrace that time together and catch up after a long day.Once his main sport starts their season, I’ll probably be dining alone though *insert sad face here*. I understand that some families aren’t able to do this, but I hope once the Huzz and I start a family we can continue eat dinner together as a family also

  • Joanne

    Yep I agree a meal together is important. Of course our lives were always crazy, starting when your dad anchored the evening news when you were little to when you were older and busy with sports. I did love our meals together and wish I had organized more. I hope you and Dan succeed with that.

  • Alicia

    I’ve been reading your blog for awhile, but rarely comment! Keep up the great work here though – I truly enjoy reading all your posts! But I agree with the importance of sitting down together to eat – now that I’m a senior in college, the #1 thing I miss from home is eating dinner with my family. Throughout the week we were always busy with practices and meetings, but every Sunday we sat down for a nice meal. Glad to know there’s a holiday! I think it’s great you 2 have made the time to spend time at dinner with each other!

Leave a Reply

