Bloggers: When to keep it to yourself

Tomorrow I am going to post a fun recap of they ways that Dan and I got inventive with our campfire meals. Before that, though, I wanted to take a short break from the camping posts to talk about something that occasionally bothers me about the blogs I read.

Here’s the deal… I am not the paradigm for healthfulness all the time. No blogger is. No person is.

That’s just reality. I simply strive to eat well, be active and indulge occasionally.

Naturally, part of my journey in finding balance in life spills over to this blog, which means I probably contradict myself sometimes. Case and point: I still have recipes with Splenda-infused ingredients, yet I steer away from artificial sweeteners now.

But, I will promise this: I won’t blog about weight specifics and I won’t talk about “feeling chubby” and then show pictures of what could ever be considered a “before” picture.

Why? Because I think that reading those kinds of posts elicits the same emotional response that I felt back in middle school when one of my friends refused to eat her lunch.

“I just need to lose weight,” she said.

Then, I looked at myself, saw how much bigger I was and came to the natural conclusion: If this girl thinks she needs to lose weight, then what does that say about me?

Since then, I’ve (mostly) learned and (usually) remember that every body is different. Some days I think that’s a great thing, some days I think that’s a sucky thing — it just depends on which side of the bed I wake up on or how recently I’ve done laundry. Side note: I hate putting on jeans for the first time after they’ve been washed.

By knowing that it’s ok to be imperfect in my own self-esteem, it’s actually gotten better. Counterintuitive, I know. But, it honestly helps to know I’m not doing anything wrong to have a few negative thoughts. The only wrong thing would be allowing those thoughts to stick around.

I just make a point a remembering what this body allows me to do…


What bothers me is when I see writers of otherwise great blogs talk about specific body gripes with no resolution — all while being perfectly aware that many readers suffer from body-confidence issues. It’s simple posting responsibility.

As for you, the dear readers of my blog, I hope that you are able to feel a little better about yourself, choose more nutritious foods and have fun with exercise. But, at the same time, I want you to know it’s ok to not be 100% happy all the time. I’m not saying its good to bottle all those emotions up. Just don’t get up on a large stage, write some self-derogatory comment and then move on leaving other people to question their own self-worth.

Whew.


What do you think? Do you think it’s all part of life for healthy living bloggers to complain about their already strong, toned bodies? Or should they be more aware of the negative effects those complaints may have on their readers?

One response to “Bloggers: When to keep it to yourself

Leave a Reply

