Worth talking about Wednesday, 10/19

It’s my fault. I take all the blame. Send your complaints to me… I just wasn’t able to do a new edition of Worth Talking About Wednesday last week.

I’ll make up for it now!

New Running Shoes

Thanks to the ol’ blog, I was able to figure out that the last time I got a new pair of running shoes was November 16, 2010 — or two half-marathons and hundreds of miles ago.

Whoops.

My shoes were definitely showing some wear-and-tear. Fortunately, the whole process for finding a new pair was relatively painless. My former variety was in stock at JCPenney for only $49. Not to sound like a commercial or anything, but it’s a great deal, especially considering how good the shoes are.

Birthday Dinners

Last Tuesday was Dan’s birthday. This Tuesday was his mom’s birthday. That means there’s been a lot of good fun and great time with family.

We celebrated this week by surprising Dan’s mom with dinner at the Mad Greek. Not to say that Dan and I aren’t special, but it was an extra special surprise for Dan’s mom to have his sister come back from college for the evening.

Can’t wait until the next family birthday for more reason than one…

Halloween Costume Brainstorming

Not like Halloween is the best holiday of the year, but I do like getting into the spirit by dressing up. I’m feeling a little bit of pressure this year, but our costume last year will be hard to top. Remember the Chiquita banana girl + a banana?

Classic.

I found some inspiration for this year from a series on “What I Wore.” Love this rendition of Rosie the Riveter.

Here’s a reminder of WWII poster — just in case you can’t remember your history classes.

The Hamburgler was pretty fun, too.

Right now, I’m leaning toward Velma from Scooby Doo.

Dan could pull of Shaggy, right?

Halloween-Inspired Treats

I’m not into candies shaped like slimy eyeballs or a witch’s finger, but I am a sucker for seasonal treats. Plus, how cute are these mini-pies?

Or these candy corn parfaits?

I have to express my Halloween enthusiasm somehow, since we don’t get trick or treaters!

What do YOU think is worth talking about this week?

3 responses to “Worth talking about Wednesday, 10/19

Leave a Reply

