Worth Talking About Wednesday: DIY

I like to keep this blog more or less focused on principles of healthy living. I love writing about running, cooking, baking and being active because I love doing those things — and, through time, I think I’ve garnered a pretty good knowledge base for those subjects. Although that doesn’t make me an expert, I also know what resources can help me back that knowledge up.

On the other hand, I also am willing to admit that I am less knowledgeable in certain topics. For example, eating organic, living sustainably and knowing more about environmentalism are all things that semi-interest me. But, I’m no authority to speak on them.

The same kind of idea applies to crafts. I love finding new ideas, but I am not the most skilled person. In other words, this will never be a craft blog. Yet, I still wanted to take one simple day (thanks to Worth Talking About Wednesday) to devote to a few of my recent crafting inspirations.

Bordered Picture Frames

Although this is technically from Etsy (click on all pictures for links), I think the idea would be simple enough to do. Those could be famous last words, but my idea is this: I would cut, sand-down, clean and paint a few scraps of wood. Then, I would securely attach a simple picture frame to the middle of the board sections.

Vintage Knob Jewelry Organizer

Another Etsy idea! I’ve always loved cute door knobs from antique stores, but I thought they were a little impractical for actual doors. This seems like a fun way to showcase a variety of unique knobs that I find from area antique stores.

I could also seem this working for keys or hats!

Mason Jar Soap Dispenser

Finally, a DIY tutorial! I love the look of mason jars for storing dried goods on my kitchen counter and this seems like a simple way to adapt the idea for another purpose. Besides, I have a really ugly soap dispenser in the kitchen right now.

According to the instructions, it’s basically as simple as drilling a hole, which is the same width as the soap dispenser tube, through the lid of the mason jar. Then, to keep the tube in place, use a little hot glue on the underside of the lid.

Drawer Shelf

Believe it or not, this shelf is actually a cabinet drawer that was fitted with hooks on the back. To me, this seems to be the most involved project of the bunch. Fortunately, I am married to a semi-pro carpenter, so I think we could make it work. The first trick is to find an antique cabinet drawer that’s cheap and would actually work for the purpose. For now, this is on my wish list!

Seasonal Wreaths

Tons of good ideas on this link for season wreaths! For some reason, I’ve always been a little intimidated by making wreaths. I think it’s because they can be so complex and seemingly complicated. After reading a few tutorials, however, they don’t actually seem that bad!

Questions: What do you think is worth talking about this week? Have you done any fun craft projects lately?

4 responses to “Worth Talking About Wednesday: DIY

Leave a Reply

